BAI Homepage » Alternative Investments

What are Alternative Investments?

Alternative Investments (AI) are innovative investment strategies and concepts, which are designed for diversification and optimization of return/risk structures of portfolios. Usually the term is often linked to "Hedge Funds" and "Private Equity", but the scope of AI covers amongst others "Private Debt",  "Infrastructure" or "Commodities" as well. Since there is no universal definition, various interpretations can be found. The BAI recognizes AI as investments in non-traditional asset classes (beyond shares and bonds) or investments in such classes with the aid of complex, non-traditional strategies.

The simplified graph explains why a simple distinction of the different parts of AI is commonly difficult. For instance Hedge Funds are categorized regarding asset classes and strategies (e.g. Fixed Income Equity), but apart from the asset class their common thread is the manner, how and on which point in time they take their investments (e.g. Event Driven, Tactical). The various parts of the AI universe share the fact that - assumed adequate portfolio allocation - the asset classes and strategies can be conducive to a significant improvement of the return/risk relation. Beyond the diversification effect there are still more attributes of Alternative Investments:

• Above average return potential
• Possibly lower liquidity
• Possibly lower transparency
• Application of leverage and derivatives
• Return commonly not normally distributed
• Complex performance and risk computation

Furthermore actual returns of bonds and sovereigns are stressed by the period of low interest rates, in such way that the combination of both essential factors return and risk investments in Alternative Investments are dictate of the moment. Thus, the relevance of AI will be increasing over time and will take up more space in the investor's portfolio allocation.

Hedge Funds
Hedge funds are investment funds that invest with advanced strategies and not with traditional strategies. Hedge funds differ mainly from ordinary investment funds through its multi-faceted strategies and techniques. They use risk management systems, leverage and short positions to benefit from market inefficiency. You can see that hedge funds invest in traditional asset classes by the use of alternative strategies.>> To the FactSheet

Managed Futures/CTAs
Commodity Trading Advisors is a state-regulated term for asset managers in the U.S. These asset managers invest only in derivative products. The investments are made mainly in listed financial and commodity futures. A large part of the Fund's assets may be invested in the money market because in comparison to investments, derivative market products bind only small amounts of money. This does not mean that the risk is low in this asset class.>> FactSheet follows

Private Equity
Private equity are investments in equity capital or the acquisition of a company that is not publicly traded on a stock exchange. The main characteristic is the high debt ratio to finance the acquisition or participation. The required debt is taken by bank loans and/or by issuing bonds. The debt service of the loans will be covered by the future income of the target company or the sale of assets. >> To the FactSheet (in German)

Private Debt
Private debt refers to all types of non-publicly issued (ie private) debt instruments. Investment opportunities in the private debt area include e.g. Infrastructure financing, commercial real estate financing, aviation and also corporate loans. Private debt is also defined as so-called direct lending, ie the lending of loans to medium-sized companies by a financial institution with non-bank status (eg asset managers, insurance companies or credit funds)

>> To the FactSheet (in German)

Infrastructure Investments
Infrastructure Investments in infrastructure involve a variety of diverse areas, which are heterogeneous and have specific characteristics and properties. On the highest level they can organized in an economic and a social field, which can be further categorized. Transport infrastructure (e.g. toll roads or rail), publicly regulated energy and water supply, communication infrastructure (e.g. mobile communications or satellites) as well as the renewable energies fall within the scope of the economic area. Social infrastructure covers hospitals, educational and cultural institution among others. Furthermore we can distinguish between different project stages, where investments are located. Greenfield projects cannot build upon existing infrastructure and are planned, constructed and maintained entirely new. On the other hand Brownfield projects can build upon established infrastructure or Greenfield projects, which passed over to the operational phase or were shortly before the implementation.
>> To the FactSheet (in German)

Real Estate
Real estate investments invest in properties regardless to their purposes of use (e.g. residential real estate). The main aim is to generate high returns. Real estate investments can be made by direct investments or through specialized real estate funds. These funds can be structured as a real estate investment trust (REIT), which invests in properties or in shares of real estate companies. REITs are listed stock corporations, which generate their revenues mainly through managing or trading of real estates.

Commodities
Commodity investments include a multitude of heterogeneous investments, which are traditionally precious metal, industrial metal, crude oil, natural gas or agricultural commodities. As a consequence of the heterogeneity of the commodity sector, there are certainly different ways to categorize raw material (commodities). You can categorize them for example by the type of use or whether they can be consumed directly or they are to be used in the manufacture. Another possibility is the distinction between hard and soft commodities. Hard commodities are not renewable raw materials which are characterized by their limited availability. Soft commodities are renewable perishable commodities.

Alternative InvestmentsAlternative Investments
 
BAI Startseite » Alternative Investments

Was sind Alternative Investments?

Alternative Investments (AI) sind innovative Anlagestrategien und -konzepte, die der besseren Diversifizierung und Optimierung der Rendite-Risikostruktur des Portfolios dienen. Der Begriff wird oft mit "Hedgefonds" und "Private Equity" verbunden, dabei erstreckt sich das Feld der AI jedoch ebenso auf die Bereiche "Infrastruktur" oder "Rohstoffe" sowie viele weitere. Da keine allgemeingültige Definition existiert, findet man diverse Auslegungen. Der BAI versteht unter AI die Investition in nicht traditionelle Anlageklassen (außerhalb von Aktien und Anleihen) oder die Investition in diese Anlageklassen unter Zuhilfenahme komplexer, nicht traditioneller Strategien.

Die vereinfachte Grafik macht deutlich, warum eine trennscharfe Einteilung der einzelnen Klassen häufig schwierig ist. Hedgefonds beispielsweise können nach Anlageklassen und -strategien kategorisiert werden (Fixed Income, Equity, etc.), ihr gemeinsamer Nenner aber ist häufig auch die Art und Weise oder der Zeitpunkt der Investition (Event Driven, Tactical, etc.). Was die Anlageklassen und -strategien eint, ist die Tatsache, dass sie bei entsprechender Portfolioallokation zu einer deutlichen Verbesserung der Rendite/Risiko-Relation beitragen. Über den Diversifikationseffekt hinaus gibt es noch weitere Merkmale, die Alternative Investments auszeichnen:

• überdurchschnittliches Renditepotential
• ggf. geringere Liquidität
• ggf. geringere Transparenz
• Einsatz von Hebeln und Derivaten
• Renditen häufig nicht normalverteilt
• komplexe Performance- und Risikomessung

Darüber hinaus sind die Renditen im Anleihebereich durch die weltweit stark gefallenen Zinssätze belastet, so dass sich in Kombination der beiden essentiellen Faktoren Rendite und Risiko Anlagen in Alternative Investments anbieten. So wird die Bedeutung von AI im Zeitverlauf eher zunehmen und einen größeren Raum in der Portfolioallokation von Investoren einnehmen.

Hedgefonds
Ein Hedgefonds ist ein Investmentfonds, der seine Gelder nach hochentwickelten, nicht traditionellen Strategien investiert. Hedgefonds unterscheiden sich von gewöhnlichen Investmentfonds vor allem durch ihre vielschichtigen Strategien und Anlagetechniken. Sie nutzen beispielsweise ausgefeilte Risikomanagementsysteme, Leverage zu Anlagezwecken und Short Positionen, um Marktineffizienzen zu nutzen. Letztlich kann man sagen, dass Hedgefonds in traditionelle Asset Klassen (wie Aktien und Anleihen) investieren, sie bedienen sich jedoch alternativer Strategien. >> FactSheet

Managed Futures/CTAs
Commodity Trading Advisors ist eine in den USA staatlich reglementierte Bezeichnung für Vermögensverwalter, die ausschließlich in Terminmarktprodukte (Derivate) investieren. Die Anlagen erfolgen hauptsächlich in börsennotierte Finanz- und Warenterminkontrakte. Da Terminmarktprodukte im Vergleich zu Wertpapieranlagen nur geringe Geldbeträge binden, kann ein Großteil des Fundsvermögens am Geldmarkt angelegt sein, was jedoch nicht bedeutet, dass das Risiko dieser Anlageform gering ist. >> FactSheet

Private Equity
Investition in das Eigenkapital oder kompletter Erwerb eines Unternehmens durch außenstehende oder betriebszugehörige Investoren. Hauptmerkmal dieses Investments ist der hohe Fremdkapitalanteil zur Finanzierung der Übernahme bzw. Beteiligung. Das dazu benötigte Fremdkapital wird durch Bankkredite und/oder die Emission von Anleihen aufgenommen. Der Kapitaldienst (Zins- und Tilgungszahlungen) der Kredite wird aus den künftigen Erträgen des Zielunternehmens oder durch den Verkauf von Unternehmensteilen gedeckt. >> FactSheet

Infrastrukturinvestments
Infrastrukturinvestments beinhalten eine Vielzahl verschiedener Bereiche, die sehr heterogen sind und spezifische Merkmale und Risiken besitzen. Infrastrukturinvestments können auf der höchsten Ebene in einen ökonomischen und einen sozialen Bereich gegliedert werden, die sich weitergehend kategorisieren lassen. In den ökonomischen Bereich fallen die Transport- und Verkehrsinfrastruktur (bspw. Mautstraßen oder Schienen), die öffentlich regulierte Energie- und Wasserversorgung, die Kommunikationsinfrastruktur (bspw. Mobilfunk oder Satelliten) sowie die Erneuerbaren Energien. Die soziale Infrastruktur umfasst Krankenhäuser, Bildungs- und kulturelle Einrichtungen und weitere mehr. Darüber hinaus kann auch eine Unterscheidung hinsichtlich der Projektphasen, in denen sich die Investments befinden, vorgenommen werden. Greenfield-Projekte sind solche, die nicht auf eine bestehende Infrastruktur aufbauen und völlig neu geplant, konstruiert und betrieben werden. Brownfield-Projekte hingegen bauen bereits auf bestehende Infrastruktur oder Greenfield-Projekte, die in die Betriebsphase übergegangen sind bzw. kurz vor der Inbetriebnahme stehen, auf. >> FactSheet

Real Estate
Bei einem Immobilieninvestment werden Immobilien unabhängig vom Nutzungszweck (z.B. Büro-oder Wohnimmobilien) erworben mit dem Ziel, eine Rendite zu erwirtschaften. Immobilieninvestments können per Direktinvestment erfolgen oder über spezialisierte Immobilienfonds, die wiederrum in Immobilien oder in Aktien von Immobilienunternehmen investieren. Diese können als Real Estate Investments Trust (REITs) strukturiert sein. REITs sind börsennotierte Aktiengesellschaften, die ihre Erlöse überwiegend aus der Bewirtschaftung oder dem Handel von Immobilien erzielen. >> FactSheet folgt

Rohstoffe
Zu Rohstoffinvestments zählen eine Vielzahl heterogener Zielinvestments. Dazu zählen klassischerweise Edelmetalle, Industriemetalle, Rohöl, Erdgas oder Agrarrohstoffe. Aufgrund der Heterogenität des Rohstoffsektors gibt es sicherlich verschiedene Wege, um Rohstoffe (Commodities) zu kategorisieren. Beispielsweise nach der Art ihrer Verwendung oder ob sie direkt konsumiert werden können oder lediglich als Arbeitsmittel bei der Herstellung anderer Produkte genutzt werden. Eine weitere Möglichkeit ist die Unterscheidung in Hard und Soft Commodities, wobei Hard Commodities nicht nachwachsende Rohstoffe sind, die sich durch ihre begrenzte Verfügbarkeit auszeichnen. Soft Commodities hingegen sind nachwachsende und verderbliche Rohstoffe. >> FactSheet folgt